Nowadays, the Balkans includes the following countries: Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Greece, Kosovo, the Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Romania, Serbia and Slovenia. The region lies at the crossroads of cultures and peoples, guaranteeing a turbulent and violent history. The above-mentioned countries have much of this history in common, and also share some of their heroes. This can result in heated debates, as for example shown by the dispute between Greece and Macedonia with respect to Alexander the Great. Macedonia is the ultimate example of a country that uses equestrian statues as a tool to define and emphasize its national identity. No less than 12 equestrian statues were placed in its capital Skopje in a short period, often irritating its neighbouring countries.