Nowadays, the Balkans includes the following countries: Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Greece, Kosovo, the Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Romania, Serbia and Slovenia. The region lies at the crossroads of cultures and peoples, guaranteeing a turbulent and violent history. <The above-mentioned countries have much of this history in common, and also share some of their heroes.